Media art is concerned with the critical analysis, playful appropriation, and prospective development of technologies, tools, and codes of global information networks. The results do not offer simple answers, but are aimed at interpreting economic, ecological, and technological aspects of social development. Embarking on process-orientated modes of practice, speculative and experimental methods of artistic research stir critical debate on pertinent issues of our time.

In the “Angewandte Showroom” teaching staff and graduates from the Institute of Fine and Media Art at the University of Applied Arts Vienna provide insights into both their “digital studios” and artistic strategies through changing exhibitions, presentations and discussions.

Curators: Ruth Schnell, Tommy Schneider (curating since January 2015), Wolfgang Fiel (curator from September 2011 till December 2014), Lydia Lindner (curator from the beginning of the project in November 2009 until August 2011) and visiting curators.

 

Current exhibition:

Reece Terris

DIG

Thumbnail overview item

Curation: Ruth Schnell and Tommy Schneider

Opening Exhibition: 24.05.2017, 19:00 (The artist will be present)
Duration: 25.05.2017 - 21.07.2017
Opening hours: 10:00 - 22:00
Location: Schauraum Angewandte - quartier 21 im MQ, Museumsplatz 1, A-1070 Wien

more...

 

Previous exhibitions:

Medienkunst beschäftigt sich mit der kritischen Analyse, spielerischen Aneignung und prospektiven Entwicklung von Technologien, Werkzeugen und Codes globaler Informationsnetzwerke. Die Ergebnisse liefern keine einfachen Antworten, sondern verstehen sich als Beitrag zur Interpretation von ökonomischen, ökologischen und technologischen Aspekten gesellschaftlicher Entwicklung. Ausgehend von einer prozessorientierten Arbeitsweise ermöglichen die spekulativ-experimentellen Methoden künstlerischer Forschung eine kritische Auseinandersetzung mit relevanten Fragen der Gegenwart.

Im Schauraum der Angewandten geben Lehrende und AbsolventInnen des Instituts für Bildende und Mediale Kunst der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien im Rahmen von wechselnden Ausstellungen, Präsentationen und Diskussionen Einblicke in ihre "digitalen Ateliers" und künstlerischen Strategien.

KuratorInnen: Ruth Schnell, Tommy Schneider (kuratiert die Ausstellungen seit Jänner 2015), Wolfgang Fiel (kuratierte von September 2011 bis Dezember 2014), Lydia Lindner (kuratierte von November 2009 bis August 2011) und GastkuratorInnen.

 

Aktuelle Ausstellung:

Reece Terris

DIG

Thumbnail overview item

Kuratiert von Ruth Schnell und Tommy Schneider

Eröffnung: 24.05.2017, 19:00 Uhr (Der Künstler sind anwesend)
Ausstellungsdauer: 25.05.2017 - 21.07.2017
Öffnungszeiten: 10:00 - 22:00 Uhr
Ort: Schauraum Angewandte - quartier 21 im MQ, Museumsplatz 1, A-1070 Wien

mehr...

 

Vergangene Ausstellungen: